What is SHAC? 

School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) is a group appointed by the school district to serve at the district level. Members of the SHAC come from different areas of the community and from within the school district. The majority of members must be parents who are not employed by the district. Texas law (Texas Education Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, §28.004) requires the establishment of a SHAC for every school district.  SHACs are required to meet at least four times each year. 

SHACs assist the districts in ensuring that local community values are reflected in health education instruction. Additionally, SHACs can help districts meet performance goals and alleviate financial constraints. SHACs play an important role in strengthening the connection between health and learning. They can help parents and community stakeholders reinforce the knowledge and skills children need to stay healthy for a lifetime.  

2021-2022 Meeting Dates:

September 23, 2021 at 8:00am Click here to view Meeting and Agenda

October 14, 2021 at 8:00am Click here to view Meeting and Agenda

November 11, 2021 at 8:00am Click here to view Meeting and Agenda

Meet the SHAC Committee

  • Committee Chairs:
    • Al Hemmle
    • Becky Wiginton
  • Parent Representatives: 
    • Sarah Ingram
    • Tanya Rizo
    • Frances Kebeng
    • Whitney Phillips
    • Rhiannon Hansen
    • Megan Dickson
    • Michelle Spradley
    • Hillary Pace
    • Tami Tobey
    • Sabra Golden
    • Samantha Camp
    • Kamakshi Raol
    • Jessica Hartin
    • Tori Rose
    • Jennifer Cowden
    • Tanya Henry
    • Nicholle McChesney
    • Brian Woods
    • Lupita Melendez
    • Kelly Weinberg
    • Belinda Czenwieski
    • Andrea Adlesperger
    • Gregg Scott
  • Board Appointed Representatives: 
    • Teana Drury
    • Laura Hunt
    • Emily Forbes
    • Katherine Pederson
    • Rachel Hallmark
  • Food Service Representative: 
    • Mandi Tucker
    • Colton Lawrence
  • Nursing Staff:
    • Jessica Martin
    • Lauren Williams
    • Wendy Hein
    • Joanne Sullivan
    • Rachel Bryant
    • Paula Williams
    • Joanna Stinchcomb
    • Katy Watts
    • Amanda Berry
    • Brenda Jenkins
    • Megan Lynch
    • Krissie Ottinger
    • Abby Pate
  • Community Representatives:  
    • Bruce Prindle
    • Cassie Street
    • Daron Ehly
    • Angel Biasatti
    • Janis Burdett
    • Reese Blackwell
  • Student Representatives:  
    • Sloan Short
    • Harper Stark